Singers, Carriages, and Protests- Oh my! Part 3 (The Protests Part)

Before starting this post, I’d like to address that this is Part 3 of “Singers, Carriages, and Protests- Oh my!” Here is the link to entry #1 and #2 if you haven’t read them previously.

Part 1 (The Singers Part) https://wordsmithobservations.wordpress.com/2017/05/16/singers-carriages-and-protests-oh-my/

Part 2 (The Carriages Part) https://wordsmithobservations.wordpress.com/2017/05/20/singers-carriages-and-protests-oh-my-part-2-the-part-with-the-carriages/


… I could tell the grown ups were a little anxious about our bus being parked so close to Trump Towers, what with the protest scheduled for tonight. Even though it was, for the most part, a very peaceful protest in New York, they knew that at a drop of the hat situations change.

wp-1484972895948.jpg
Seeing the globe!

We eventually came a completely different scene before us. This point of the city was filled to the brim with police barricading and sectioning off areas we shouldn’t go to if we wanted to keep our distance. We kept walking, eventually crossing the street, where there was a police woman starting to barricade the place behind us.

image3-4

In sudden realization, we remembered that our bus would be picking us up on the opposite side, where we just came from. “Can we go back?” we asked the policewoman.

“No, ma’am. Not if you want to stay safe. The protesters should be here any minute.”

The minutes before the protest were, actually a little nerve-wracking. We didn’t know what to expect. And since there were so many police milling around, ready for anything, we knew we should keep our distance. It was an adrenaline moment, police from all sides with sirens blaring. But in another way, there was a very exciting aspect to it. I knew at the time that this was a time in history people would remember, and I got to see it up close and personal.

“We need to find a place farther away,” someone in the group mumbled. Because at the time, we were right along where the protest would be going by.

We found our way to the fountain in the middle of the street which was the perfect place to be since there there were benches to sit on and a good view of everything taking place. As much as we didn’t want to get in the middle of it, I felt a distinct sense of adventure even being there to witness everything, as I said, in a “this time in history” sort of way.

image4-3
Trump Towers

It only took about ten minutes before a huge group of people started walking through with signs blazon. And it sure didn’t help people’s nerves when a group of skateboarders came into the fountain area, jumping and skidding around.

Thankfully, it wasn’t long until our bus group was able to meet in the same fountain area, where we called the bus driver and explained our dilemma. After talking with him, we were told to walk a little bit more so we could meet up in a different location. Many of the roads were blocked because of the protest, so we needed to go to a road easily accessible to the bus driver.

At around 7:30 or 8 in the evening, we were all safely boarded and able to relax in our seats. It had certainly been an eventful day. An awesome day that I will remember always. It’s hard to believe so much can take place in such little time, but you realize in times like that just how much you can really get done in a day.

After stopping for a late night Cracker Barrel dinner, which was fun, to say the least, we drove a few more hours, got off the bus, and headed home. I was soon dropped off at my house, and even though I’d been gone for a day, it felt like I’d been gone for a month. I’m so thankful that I was invited to go on this trip. I’d learned and experienced so much just by doing so. So, thank you so much, Ms. Jen and Brooke! I never got around to that thank-you card, so I hope you accept this instead. I’m very thankful for all you do for me, and all the fun times we have! Love you guys.

And thank you, the reader, as well, for sticking around for all three parts to my NYC trip. I’m glad I have it all documented on these handy little blog entries. There was much adventure to tell of!

Your trusty blogger signing out,

Hannah

Leave a Reply

