Writer’s Block??

You know what every writer hates more than anything in the world?

That’s right.

Luke Bryan.

Ha! Just kidding. Writers hate writer’s block. (Luke Bryan is just a close second).

Well, anyways, writers block is the name of a very devilish little thing that strikes us sometimes when we crave writing the most. You want to write a piece, but you don’t know the subject to focus on, you don’t know how to start, you don’t know how to finish. You just-don’t know.

I always find that when I go long periods of time without writing (just as I’ve been doing with this blog recently), I have so much that I wish to speak of that I almost have no idea where to start. Especially when quite possibly monumental, historic events in my life are going down.

For instance, I’m sixteen years old and my dad has just founded a school for orphaned and vulnerable children of August this year.

In my mind, that creates a LOT of pressure for me to write and record practically every little detail of this period of our lives. Do you think I’ve been keeping track of that? Pshh…of COURSE. *Beep, beep, beep! Extreme sarcasm detected*

But it seems to me that everyone, myself included, should stop thinking and dwelling on that pesky little thing we call writer’s block or the search for a perfect subject or story to write on. We should just tackle it.

Even in the things that aren’t writing. Just going for it without hesitation and with a bundle of perseverance in hand will help you dramatically in the long run. I’d say this is the principle that has always helped me grow the most in the things that I do. I only hope that I continue to remember (in times of deep everyday or writing distress) that often when we have these certain problems the deep underlying root is originating from a smidgen of our own perfectionism.

I saw a wonderful quote on this subject just recently.

All writing problems are psychological problems. Blocks usually stem from the fear of being judged. If you imagine the world listening, you’ll never write a line. That’s why privacy is so important. You should write first drafts as if they will never be shown to anyone. 

Erica Jong

Write as if they will never be shown to anyone. 

This phrase hits home, doesn’t it? I hope at least something has for you because I want my “readers” (some who are in the same boat as I am) to go away from this feeling that they have received, even if it’s pebble sized, trinket of insight to help them in their days to come.

Every one of us can better ourselves in certain areas, even the best of the best can become legendary if they wanted. We just need to break down the barriers (or the blocks*) that we create for ourselves that prevent us from accomplishing our goals.

Well, I’d say that I’m done for the night.

Your ready for sleep blogger turning in,

Hannah

5 thoughts on “Writer’s Block??

  1. Really helps! thank you. i think its true that your not able to write when you imagine people listening. I am really so afraid of being judged i have trouble showing people my work even After I’ve perfected it. Now I’ll just imagine everything tucked safely away in a cupboard.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

